Knowing the local terrain it
may come as no surprise to learn that this is
where the bicycle was invented by blacksmith
Kirkpatrick MacMillan in 1839. No doubt he wanted
a machine that would save his energy as he
traversed the nearby hills.|
The town itself has two picturesque boulevards lined with old lime trees and a column bearing the winged horse emblem of the Queensferry family. Erected in 1714 it was restored in 1955 following a severe storm.
Drumlanrig Castle, Gardens and Country Park is the home of the Duke of Buccleuth and Queensberry. Built between 1679 and 1691, it is one of Scotland’s most important pieces of architecture. Made out of pink sandstone it has a renowned art collection.