The ancient and Royal Burgh of
Selkirk stands high above the Ettrick and Yarrow
Valleys. Sir Walter Scott served as sheriff for 33
years and his former courtroom features a
fascinating audio-visual presentation telling the
story of Scott's associations with the area and
Halliwell's House, the town's oldest dwelling, is now the local museum, with the building's links with the ironmongery trade recreated, and the Robson Gallery providing a venue for exhibitions. Clapperton's Daylight Photographic Studio is a working museum and photographic archive.
Visitors to the town can enjoy free parking; local publications include a Town Plan, Town Trail, mini-guide and countryside walks. Selkirk Common Riding in June is recognised as one of the oldest of the Border Festivals, with a tradition going back to the Battle of Flodden in 1513, with as many as 400 riders taking part. The town's industrial background is reflected in the number of specialist tweed outlets, whilst local glass works offer the chance to buy products and see skilled craftsmen at work.
Three miles west is Bowhill House, a Georgian mansion, with woodland walks and an adventure playground in the extensive grounds. Its Little Theatre hosts drama and music performances.
The twin valleys of Ettrick and Yarrow contain some of the most glorious scenery in the Scottish Borders, with St Mary's Loch, Southern Scotland's largest stretch of water.