This small fishing port on the north coast of Moray overlooks beautiful Cullen Bay, which boasts unusual rocks with names like Three Kings and the Bow Fiddle. The village was part-inspiration for ‘Portloise’ in George Macdonald’s famous novel ‘Malcolm’, published in 1875. The diarist and author Dr Johnson paid Cullen a visit in 1773. A haddock-based soup known as the ‘Cullen Skink’ has its roots here.
The upper part of Cullen was planned in 1832. When the railway was being built, the Countess of Seafield would not allow the track to be built through the grounds of Cullen house, so it was carried on viaducts through the town