This fascinating town
originally developed as a seaport and was known as
Bishop’s Lynn until Henry V111 changed its name
during the dissolution of the monasteries in the
16th century. Its buildings largely reflect its
seafaring wealth amassed in particular during the
14th and 17th
It has two guildhalls, one of which is the flint town hall built around 1420. The oldest surviving guildhall in England, it has a Great Hall that measures 100ft in length.
Within this remarkable
building are some of the finest treasures in
Britain, including the 700-year-old silver and
enamel King John Cup, one of oldest paper
books in existence and the King John Sword.
Lynn Museum has information on the geology, archaeology and natural history of the area as well as Bronze Age weapons, while the Town Museum of Lynn Life offers displays of costumes and toys along with a reconstructed Victorian kitchen.
The 12th century Church of St Margaret was once part of a Benedictine monastery.
Special places of interest include the Old Gaol House, which illustrates the deprivations of prison life in the 18th century, and the medieval merchant’s house Hampton Court. Clifton House is another ancient merchant’s house with a garden.
The Red Mount at King's Lynn, also known as the Chapel of Our Lady of the Mount was a place of pilgrimage. It was built in the reign of Richard III (1483-85) by Robert Curraunt. It is in "The Walks" park in King's Lynn.
Caithness Crystal Factory
offers demonstrations of glass making and has a
Nearby is the Palladian Houghton Hall built in the early 18th century for Robert Walpole, England’s first prime Minister.
Now owned by the 6th Marquis Hugh, Lord Great Chamberlain to the Queen, it contains a remarkable collection of 20,000 model soldiers.